KSEA Home  
Preliminary Program
Final Program
Plenary Speakers
Conference Schedule
Home > Programs & Schedule > Plenary Speakers
Plenary Speakers
Dr. Clive Granger
Dr. Clive Granger received the 2003 Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences shared with Robert Engle for methods of analyzing economic time series with common trends. He earned his Ph.D. in statistics at the University of Nottingham, England. He now holds positions of Professor Emeritus and Research Professor at University of California-San Diego.

Dr. Suh, Nam Pyo
Dr. Suh , Nam Pyo is the President of Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology. He has a Ph.D. degree from Carnegie-Mellon University . He was a professor (1970-2006) and the Head (1991-2001) of Mechanical Engineering at MIT. He also served as the Assistant Director of Engineering at National Science Foundation (1984-1988).

Dr. Sung-Mo (Steve) Kang
Dr. Sung-Mo (Steve) Kang is the Chancellor of the University of California, Merced. He obtained his Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from the University of California, Berkeley in 1975. His recent awards include the IQ Quality Design Award (2008), the Chang-Lin Tien Education Leadership Award (2007), The Gandhi.King.Ikeda Award (2007), Mac Van Valkenburg Society Award of IEEE Circuits and Systems Society (2005). He is a Fellow of IEEE, ACM and AAAS.

Dr. Marye Anne Fox
Dr. Marye Anne Fox, the 7th Chancellor of the University of California San Diego, is a world-renowned physical organic chemist, whose work has influenced mechanistic chemistry, materials science, and solar energy conversion. An elected member of the National Academy of Sciences, Fox also advises on US policy on science and education. She has served as vice chair of the US National Science Board and currently serves as a member of President Bush's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology.

Dr. Suh, Sang-Kee
Dr. Suh, Sang-Kee is a congressman of the Korean National Assembly and the President of the Assembly Digital Forum. He has a Ph.D. Degree from Drexel University . He was a senior researcher at Ford Motors, the President of Korea Institute of Machinery and Materials, a professor of Hoseo University, and a member of the Assembly Science, Technology and Information Committee.

Dr. Sunggi Baik
Dr. Sunggi Baik is the President of Pohang University of Science and Technology. He obtained his Ph.D. degree in Materials Science from Cornell University and was a researcher at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. Since he joined POSTECH, he has held many senior positions including Vice-President (1998-2000). He is a Fellow of American Ceramic Society and member of World Academy of Ceramics, and has received numerous awards including Outstanding Achievement Award and Best Publication Award.

Dr. Jong-Koo Park
Dr. Jong-Koo Park is a Vice Minister of Education, Science and Technology of Republic of Korea. He has a Ph.D. in Economics from Syracuse University. Previously, he served as a Vice Minister of Science and Technology
Innovation at the Ministry of Science and Technology; Vice Minister of Office for Government Policy Coordination; Assistant Minister of Economic Policy Coordination, Assistant Minister of Water Quality Control Department at the Office for Government Policy Coordination among others.

Dr. In-Kyung Ryu
Dr. In-Kyung Ryu is the Executive Vice President and Director at LGE Advanced Research Institute. He obtaind his Ph.D in electrical engineering from the University of Southern California. He was an Executive Vice President at Alticast Corporation and Vice President at Samsung Electronics.

Dr. Stuart Peltz
Dr. Stuart Peltz is a President and CEO of PTC Therapeutics. He is a leader in the investigation of mRNA turnover and translation and has been involved in developing the first biochemical assays to investigate the regulation of mRNA turnover as well as in demonstrating the strong connection between the processes of translation and mRNA turnover. Dr. Peltz is widely published and serves on National Institutes of Health and American Cancer Society committees. A recognized scientific leader in the area of post-transcriptional control processes, Dr. Peltz's work was instrumental in identifying and characterizing components of the nonsense-mediated mRNA decay pathway. His laboratory has established the notion that factors that are involved in nonsense-mediated mRNA turnover are also involved in modulating the processes of translation termination and programmed -1 ribosomal frameshifting. Dr. Peltz received his Ph.D. at the McArdle Laboratory for Cancer Research at the University of Wisconsin.

© 2008 Korean-American Scientists and Engineers Association. All rights reserved.